Today I returned to the AMC hospital. I brought with me a card I had written the lovely Todd along with a few little stories and visions from the streets of Amsterdam. When he read the card, I received the kind of words I have been waiting 5 weeks and 1 day for!!!!! (So not gonna tell you what he said! Gotta keep some stuff to ourselves) It was simple and totally brought happy tears to my eyes. Yippee for love! Todd is doing so much better over the last couple of days, he is building strength for the surgery. Levon would tell you himself how impressed he is with what he has seen…… but he is gone….as is Babalou. Our biggest thanks to them both!

Let me continue along with the major exciting moments of the day! Oh yes there is more!
SETTING THE STAGE:
I was sharing bits about the letters and notes we receive every day, people missing him …. all that good stuff. At the moment we were focusing in on the family….. his sisters’ love for him and their upcoming visit, searching for Jaime’s package (So very near and yet so far away). …… it was then that I began speaking of Aunt Jane and how she writes every day, a bit of silly mixed in her notes. (Todd and I love the playful stuff!) I was going on about how she is moving south….something about snow and motorhomes not going together….but that I didn’t know where she was headed exactly. This is where Todd comes in…….

Todd: “Lake Mead” me: “Where is that?” Todd: “Arizona”!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Totally cool!!!!!!! When he speaks it is very much a whisper and I can not always understand but this was clear!!

If you thought that was good, there is still more…. well first Todd was a bit naughty. I turned my back on him for a sec to grab a damp towel and the guy rips out the feeding tube from his nose! He is so over this hospital bed stuff. The nurse removed it fully, took this cue and ran with it. She scheduled a visit from the speech pathologist and our Todd was given yogurt and he finished a whole small package of applesauce!!! (I didn’t even ask for a bite.) SUPER NURSE, so loving her…all of them really. The feeding tube was replaced slightly after and will remain until Todd is able to take in the necessary required amount of nutrients on his own. We certainly are getting closer to that goal!

One day left before surgery. We now prepare to receive Jen.

Love from Amsterdam!!!!

